Where The Bike Takes Me

Continuing this journey of cycling in efforts to get into shape, lose weight, enjoy the outdoors, and save my knees from their arthritic state at 28 years of age.

First Ride to Work May 15, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — f8th637 @ 11:06 pm

This past Friday in honor of Bike to Work Week/Day coming up I decided to give the route to work a try.  I hadn’t intended on bringing my clothes and laptop with me but ended up having to in the end.  It was also my first time riding with such a loaded bag on my back.  The route was pretty much 17 miles from my door to the office and most of it was on the W&OD.  I stopped twice briefly and it took me about an hour and 45 minutes to do the whole thing.  I definitely feel that the latter half of the ride is more uphill.  I just went on a 26-mile ride this past weekend and it was no where near as strenuous.  I think because it was flatter.  My pitstop for Friday is the Whole Foods in Vienna and it took me 40 minutes to get there.  That also accounts for stops to cross roads, etc.  I didn’t have to do the ride back since The Husband works in my office.  One day I’ll have to convert him too.  I think I’m ready for Friday I just need to make sure I get up much earlier.

 

Leave a Reply

