Where The Bike Takes Me

Continuing this journey of cycling in efforts to get into shape, lose weight, enjoy the outdoors, and save my knees from their arthritic state at 28 years of age.

Today’s Ride & A Visit to Spokes May 16, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — f8th637 @ 1:02 am

I debated riding today since I was so tired but it was so beautiful out that I decided I just have to go especially since I know I’m not riding tomorrow for various reasons.  I set out West on the W&OD with the intent to stop at Spokes bicycle shop in Vienna which is around mile marker 11.5.  The bike needed lights.  🙂

I noticed today that as I was riding on a higher gear than I had been in past rides.  Also, it took me less than 40 minutes this time to get to my pitstop in Vienna.  I definitely moved faster today.  I do realize though that I also did not have the heavy backpack I did last Friday when I timed myself on my way to work for my trial run.  But still, I definitely rode on one higher gear up than I had been even before!

I bought some lights at Spokes because I had a feeling that I’d be getting home a bit later than usual.  The days are getting longer but still not like what it will be in summer.  I installed the lights outside of the store.  I didn’t want to be caught out there without not being seen well or at least better.  I also bought a reflective vest which I’m still not sure I’ll keep and a bike map for Washington DC and surrounding areas.  That thing is cool!

Once I got home (I hate living at the top of the hill, whew!) and ate dinner I finally installed my cyclocomputer from Planet Bike that I bought at REI months ago.  I fine tuned the lights to my liking and moved the front reflector.  There really isn’t a whole lot of real estate up there on a handlebar.  I definitely have to say that the bike is looking nice.  It looks great with all its new accessories but I also feel a sense of relief knowing that I am helping myself in trying to be more visible to people in the road.  I’m finishing up “The Art of Urban Cycling: Lessons from the Street” by Robert Hurst.  I’ll devote another post to that later but I really think that everyone should read it.  Take it upon yourself to help yourself and never assume the actions of other people.  Happy Riding!

 

Leave a Reply

