Where The Bike Takes Me

Continuing this journey of cycling in efforts to get into shape, lose weight, enjoy the outdoors, and save my knees from their arthritic state at 28 years of age.

The Maiden Voyage of the Kona Sutra March 3, 2008

Filed under: cycling — f8th637 @ 1:19 pm

I finally got to spend some quality time with my new bike.  If you are keeping count, since I sold the hybrid and bought the Sutra, our household consists of 3 bikes to include my husband’s hybrid and the old roadie I bought off a Craiglister (which I will sell now).  On Saturday, I took the fenders off my husband’s bike at his request and put the Cateye computer on it.  I then took my old rack off the old roadie to see how it would work on the Sutra.  I attached it to the seat post with zip ties and it’s pretty darned sturdy.  I put a pannier on to see how it would do since I know a lot of people have issues with clearance while pedaling.  I do hit it a little bit but nothing too bad.  I had ordered a Tubus Cargo rack from REI using the 20% coupon but will probably cancel it since I think I have something that works.

I never mentioned that among my birthday presents from my husband was a Garmin Edge 305 with Cadence.  I ended up ordering the heart rate monitor separately with gift cards for Amazon since my current Oregon Scientific heart rate monitor went wonky on me.  So I put that on the Sutra on Saturday as well.  It was amazingly easy having gone through 3 wired bike computer installations in the past already.

Like many of you, I have been pining for nice cycling weather and with a sunny day with low winds and non-frigid temps in the high 40s on Sunday I decided to take the Sutra on her maiden voyage.  My intended route was along the W&OD from my house to mile marker 0.0 in Shirlington (Arlington, VA).  I took her for one quick spin around the neighborhood to get acquainted and to make sure that I could clip in and out easily since I’m not 100% on that just yet.  Then I was off!

It was a fantastic ride!  The ride to Shirlington is always easier than the ride back.  There can be a headwind many times on the return trip and I had always suspected that there is a gradual ascent on the return.  Thanks to my Edge 305 I can now see that is true: http://trail.motionbased.com/trail/activity/5087280

I still have to get use to this less-upright position and my shoulders, neck, and upper back are definitely feeling it today but my legs feel great!  I’m still breaking in the seat but it is no where near as bad as when I first tried it out.  The Sutra is such a smooth ride and peppier than you would think it to be.  It was a total blast!

I know I still haven’t told the story about how I came to this Sutra.  It is quite a story so I will have to save it for another post.  I’m still learning to not be quite so verbose when telling a story.  😉

 

Leave a Reply

