Where The Bike Takes Me

Continuing this journey of cycling in efforts to get into shape, lose weight, enjoy the outdoors, and save my knees from their arthritic state at 28 years of age.

Too Beautiful Not to Ride! April 1, 2008

Filed under: cycling — f8th637 @ 9:19 pm

I had full intentions of taking a nap on the couch when I got home from the office but the 70+ degree weather was just too beautiful to ignore.  I had intended on visiting a local gift store to buy presents for this weekend later in the week but decided I might as well do it today and ride my bike there.  Hubby was too tired to make dinner so I offered to pick up something at the Whole Foods in the same shopping center.

I didn’t wear cycling clothes except the shoes and my helmet, of course.  I didn’t bring the Garmin.  I didn’t wear the heart rate monitor.  I just put the grocery basket pannier on the rack and donned my AE bike tote and was out the door.

The shopping center is less than a mile away and is at the bottom of the hill so it’s pretty fun on the way down there.  This is the first time I’ve taken the big hill up on the Sutra and I LOVE having all the gears that I do on my bike.  But I still have a nice burn in my thighs right now.  I totally felt urban chic.  My husband even said as much when I came home.  I’m a dork I know but it was a great outing and the blooming trees were absolutely beautiful on my way back up the hill.

Tomorrow is the first “club” ride with folks at my office.

 

Leave a Reply

