Where The Bike Takes Me

Continuing this journey of cycling in efforts to get into shape, lose weight, enjoy the outdoors, and save my knees from their arthritic state at 28 years of age.

First Ever Metric Century Coming Up May 5, 2008

Filed under: cycling,Cycling in the DC Metro Area,Event — f8th637 @ 4:08 pm

The husband and I have been trying to figure out what rides to do this year.  We’re both fitter than we were this time last year.  Among some of the rides we found was the Knotts Island Century thrown by the Tidewater Bicycle Association.  We are opting for the metric century which is the furthest we’ve ever ridden complete with a ferry ride in the middle.  The area is pretty flat and just minutes from my parents’ home.  I figured it would be a nice way to kill several birds with one stone: first organized ride of the year, first metric century (flat), excuse to see my family especially my niece and my dog (who is on “vacation” with my parents), and spend Mother’s Day with my mom.  I’m also bringing down some stuff that I want to give away to my sister and my friend so they will stop taking up room in my home.  I figure it’s fairly win-win as long as we complete the ride strong.

I am a bit apprehensive because we’ve never done this ride nor this distance before.  We did a 32-mile ride on Saturday to help us get some miles in mostly along the Arlington loop (which was quite crowded) with some adjustments of our own.  By the time we got to DC we were feeling good at about the 20-mile mark.  From there we went to Georgetown and popped out in Rosslyn and proceeded up Wilson Blvd in all its hilly glory.  Not only was it uphill but it was hot, baking from the pavement hot, and there was no shade.  I quickly got crabby and prayed for any wind at all to help relieve me.  From Arlington on, I was uncomfortable.  I didn’t wear gloves because I couldn’t find the weightlifting gloves I had been using last year and did I mention I was hot?  I felt like my skin was baking and thankfully I had put sunscreen on.  There was this miserable whine coming from the front wheel that didn’t let up until I started going about 9 miles an hour.  Then my left knee started bothering me.  That hot hill up Wilson was what did me in.  I’m hoping for more comfortable weather this Saturday for the century.  Generally, I felt good after the ride.  My shoulders and neck were kinda sore but that didn’t linger into the next day and I’m amazed at how my body doesn’t seem to feel anything painful the next morning after longer (to me) rides.

My knees still hate me but I’m hoping they will forgive me once I get my Speedplay Frog pedals in that I ordered yesterday.  I have heard they are great for people with knee issues like me who are knock-kneed so I figured that I’d use my $100 award from work and go ahead and buy the suckers.  Among my other recent bike-related purchases were some yellow and black gloves to match my bike to be worn on the ride this weekend, Spinervals Sweating Buckets 2.0 Fitness Series for when it’s pouring outside, and a new pair of shorts that I got in a size Medium instead of a size Large (w00t!).  I also bought my husband his first pair of shorts with padding and he said they were very comfy.  I guess the secret to him is just to buy it and let him try them.

I also signed us up for Bike New York’s Long Island Harbor Ride in June.  We have yet to sign up for the Harlem Valley Rail Ride that we did last year and are tossing around the idea of doing the American Lung Association of America in Massachusetts Autumn Escape Bike Trek instead of the 8 Lighthouse Ride we did in Portland, ME.  I am really excited about the Bike Trek which is a 3-day tour basically of the cape.  I think it’ll be a nice intro into bike-touring with a support system.  So that’s what we have on the plate so far.  I’ll keep you posted.

 

One Response to “First Ever Metric Century Coming Up”

  1. Susan Says:

    If you’re still not sure about the Autumn Escape, you may want to look at my blog entries on the 2007 Trek (one entry for each day: start at http://mothadventures.livejournal.com/12714.html and go forward). The whole blog is about Trek and getting ready for it, but those three entries cover the actual 3 days of the 2007 ride.

    Trek is just wonderful; great support, reasonable fundraising requirments, and a lobster dinner on Cape Cod in september — how can you miss?


Leave a Reply

