Where The Bike Takes Me

Continuing this journey of cycling in efforts to get into shape, lose weight, enjoy the outdoors, and save my knees from their arthritic state at 28 years of age.

One Month till 2008 Autumn Escape Bike Trek August 12, 2008

Filed under: cycling,Cycling Elsewhere,Event,Gear — f8th637 @ 9:11 pm

I know it’s been a while since I’ve updated. Between work, planning my high school reunion, and life in general it has been hard keeping up sometimes. We did sign up a few months ago for the Autumn Escape Bike Trek thrown by the Lung Association of Massachusetts and we have pledged to raise $1000 as a two-person team. It is our first charity event after all. It’s also our first tour of any kind and we’re really excited about that! If we raise $1000 by August 18th (this upcoming Monday) then we get free valet luggage service to our cabins every night, a VIP pass to cut in line for meals and massages, and a 2008 Trek cycling jersey!! Online we have raised $705. I have also sent them $160 in checks that still have to post. That basically leaves us $130 to the $1000 mark. Can you help us reach our goal? Please check out our team page at: http://www.mrsnv.com/evt/e01/team.jsp?id=1679&tid=832

In other news, the B17S Brooks that was suppose to go on the mixte now has a home on my Sutra instead. My girly bits are no longer being smooshed but I do have a feeling that if I had a regular B17 I would be even more comfortable. I’ve also recently purchased a pair of De Soto Arm Coolers (great especially in the shade!), a Detours Zoom bag for the DSLR I’m considering bringing on the tour, and a VO Baguette handlebar bag because I think it will work better in general with my rack setup and the Brooks. I’ll let you know how the bags turn out when I get them in.  I need to start logging some more miles before the tour. I’ve also noticed that I seem to have gained weight. I blame it on the heat and how it demotivates me to ride outside. :p

Yes, I know I still owe a ride report on the Long Island Harbor Ride. Yet another thing on my To-Do list. 😉

 

One Response to “One Month till 2008 Autumn Escape Bike Trek”

  1. nicole Says:

    Thank GOD! I’ve had a horrendous few rides with the potomac pedalers and I’ve been looking for a blog for inspiration. I’m so glad I found you!
    Maybe this will give me the “jump” I need. Train on my own, join larger group or charity rides for fun.
    I’ll be reading!
    My blog website LOOKS like it’s devoted to felt bikes, but no, it started as a blog about felting wool.
    I was a trap/skeet girl for awhile.
    I love to knit.
    Nicole


Leave a Reply

