Where The Bike Takes Me

Continuing this journey of cycling in efforts to get into shape, lose weight, enjoy the outdoors, and save my knees from their arthritic state at 28 years of age.

Birthday Present for My Sister May 13, 2009

Filed under: bike — f8th637 @ 11:48 am

My sister, who has the added luxury of living in a very flat part of the state of Virginia, has asked for a beach cruiser for her birthday at the end of the month.  She had originally wanted this one from Chubby Cruisers in California: http://www.chubbyscruisers.com/shop/firmstrong-bella-fashionista-p-290.html in Vanilla.  Vanilla isn’t available so any light-colored pink or white would do.  I noticed that K-Mart had a Schwinn for around the same price.  I searched around for it and finally found the pink one at the K-Mart near my office.  I must say that I like this bike mostly because of the retro-ness of it.  I use to have a bike this same color with a banana seat on it growing up.  I love that the Schwinn Windwood has fenders, a chainguard, and a rack in the back.  It also has these big white-wall tires if you are into such a thing.  I took it for a spin in my cul-de-sack yesterday.  I must say that the coaster brakes unnerved me just because I’m so use to reaching for the brakes on the handlebar.  I considered picking myself up a cruiser because of its more upright position for my ever-growing belly but thought that my husband would freak if I brought yet ANOTHER bike home.  Plus, I hadn’t tried the mixte yet and it looks like she’ll work out just fine.    Also, a cruiser is not really practical in the landscape that surrounds me.  I hope my sister doesn’t come looking at this blog otherwise she’ll ruin her surprise.  😉

 

Leave a Reply

